12 May 2017

On This Day: 12 May 1767

On this day, 12 May 1767, six of the 104 Mother colonies in the Volga were founded.  Of these, three continue to exist today.  

Dinkel. Now known as Tarlykovka, Saratov, Russia.

Keller. This village no longer exists.

Letsinger. This village no longer exists.

Preuss.  This village no longer exists.

Straub, now known as Skatovka, Saratov, Russia

Warrenburg, now known as Privolnoye, Saratov, Russia

2017 marks the 250th anniversary of the founding of the Mother colonies along the Volga River. There are many events throughout the year to commemorate the anniversary, and the Germans from 
Russia Settlement Locations project joins in the celebration of this rich Volga German heritage.  

The German immigrants that came to the Volga region were among first colonists to take up Catherine the Great on her manifesto. They came from Hesse, the Rhineland, the Palatinate and W├╝rttemberg.  They are also among the most well researched and documented groups of German colonists in Russia. Thus far, the Volga Mother colonies settled between 1764 and 1767 are the only colonies that have precise dates they were settled.  

For more historical and current events related to Germans from Russia, see our calendar page or link to our public Google calendar.

 # # #